Psi Mu Omega History 


In January 2009, eighteen members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, under the leadership and guidance of Charlotte Washington and Valeria Jones, organized and became the Pink Pearls of Service Interest Group, serving Pearland and the surrounding areas.

The group increased its membership to 26 members, and sponsored or participated in several community service projects. Some of the projects included volunteering at The Christian Alliance for Humanitarian Aid to assemble food packages for indigent families; serving as volunteer readers at Kids R Kids Day Care in Pearland; serving as volunteers at the Health Awareness Fair, sponsored by the Houston Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity; and hosting a Financial Planning Workshop.

On March 19, 2011, the 26 members of the Pink Pearls of Service Interest Group became Psi Mu Omega – the 127th chapter chartered in the Sensational South Central Region.   Since chartering, the chapter membership has almost tripled in size as we strive to uphold our creed of “service to all mankind”.

Chapter’s First Elected Officers were:

Charlotte Washington, President

Valeria Jones, Vice President

Desiree' Irby, Recording Secretary

Erika Jackson, Corresponding Secretary

Carol Lanneau-Parker, Treasurer

Deborah Anderson, Financial Secretary

Brenda Hudson-Cooper, Sergant-at-Arms

Coffy Hanchett-Gray, Hostess

Karen Lexing Hebron, Public Relations

Angela Ford-Castille, Chaplain









Other Charter Members were:

Detra H. Boykin                        Robin Burgess           

Tranita Carroll                          Carolyn Coleman               

Stephanie Coleman-Mack       Adfanie Gray                       

Adeola Heyliger                         L’Sheryl Hudson        

Rita B. Jackson                         Carolyn L. Jones

Melanie Jones-Rodney            Demetria Lewis            

Yolanda Prier                            Harriet Stewart                 

Glenda Taylor                           Andrea Williams